Tags

, , ,

After seven years of researching the life of my 3x great grandfather, John Corbet (1793-1853), banging my head against brick walls, developing theories, puzzling over DNA results, poring over land records and querying experts, I have today FINALLY proved beyond a doubt where he was born!

Two years ago, based on a number of sources, I developed a theory about where John Corbet was born. Turns out, I was right. On 9 Dec 1825, he applied to the Province of Upper Canada for a land grant.

petition close up
SOURCE: Library and Archives Canada online digitized Upper Canada Land Petitions (1763-1865), Vol 107, bundle C14, petition #221, microfilm # C-1724

‘a native of Leicestershire, England’ *happy dance* My husband says I now have to become a fan of Leicestershire City F.C.

Included in the file along with the land petition is John Corbet’s oath of allegiance to his new country.

John Corbet oath of allegiance 1825

There’s also a reference note from John McGill, a man John Corbet had worked for since arriving in Upper Canada.

John McGill ref

From land registration documents I have sourced in the past from Whitby Archives, this initial grant of 200 acres to John Corbet was for Lot 19 Broken Front Concession in Whitby, land previously owned by traitor Adam Stevens.

So, now I not only have confirmation of my 3x great grandfather’s birthplace, I also know that he arrived in Upper Canada around July 1824 and that he worked in some capacity for a well established man who was adept at getting the most out of applying for land grants. No doubt, he schooled his worker well. John Corbet would ultimately own more than 600 acres in and around Lots 19 and 20 of Broken Front Concession in Whitby, Ontario. And thanks to Library and Archives Canada’s digitization of early Upper Canada land petitions, I have now seen John Corbet’s signature.

John Corbet 1825